top of page

1. Settling into Austin

Today marks 3 weeks of officially living in Austin, Texas! After all the prayer and preparation over these last 6 months, it is crazy to actually be here. We are so grateful for God's provision to get us here safe and for everyone that made this move happen! Even though Texas isn't technically the south east, Brenna and I are loving the vibrant culture and hospitality of the people in this city!

Our first couple of weeks have mostly been spent settling in to our new apartment. We are living in the North Austin area which is close to just about everything. 3 of the 5 Austin Stone campuses and main offices are within 10 minutes of us! Brenna's job with Milk + Honey Salon has multiple locations across the city but the ones she will be at are fairly close too! We are definitely still relying on Waze to get us where we need to go as we learn this new city haha.

Last week we both started our new jobs! I spent most of the week in orientation, touring the offices, and meeting the staff I will be working with. In each orientation meeting we received a devotional that encouraged us to go all in and do everything we can to get the most out of our time here at The Stone. One of the campus pastors, Tyler David, taught out of John 15:1-2:

"I am the true vine, and my Father is the vinedresser. Every branch in me that does not bear fruit he takes away, and every branch that does bear fruit he prunes, that it may bear more fruit."

He encouraged us to crave correction in the coming years here. As it says there in the book of John, there will be branches that have to be pruned. This was huge for me! I know there are a lot of things in my life that need to be pruned and taken away in order for me to produce more fruit. I am looking forward to experience what it really means to be in a culture of development over the years to come!

There is so much more I could share, but I will leave it there for now. We will continue to update all of you following, supporting, and praying for our journey!


Never Miss a Post!
bottom of page